Awards for Excellence

In 1989, El Pomar Foundation’s Board of Trustees developed the Awards for Excellence program to honor Spencer and Julie Penrose’s commitment to the nonprofit sector. For more than 30 years, the program has recognized organizations and nonprofit leaders from across Colorado who serve their communities with distinction, and now includes lifetime achievement awards honoring individuals’ outstanding contributions to the nonprofit sector. Accompanying the awards each year are grants totaling $130,000 in recognition of their excellent work to support the people of Colorado. Since its inception, Awards for Excellence has provided more than $6.5 million in grant support to more than 500 nonprofit organizations throughout Colorado. Awards for Excellence honorees do not apply for the awards but are nominated and selected by community leaders throughout Colorado.

2021 Recipients

Tom Osborne

Lifetime Achievement in Sport Award

History Colorado

Awards for Excellence Spotlight Award

Peggy Houston Shivers

Excellence in Art and Culture Trustee Award 

YMCA of the Pikes Peak Region

Awards for Excellence Pikes Peak Award

Renny Fagan

Russell T. Tutt Leadership and Service Award

Boys & Girls Clubs of Pueblo County

Awards for Excellence Rural Award

Tim Foster

The Ben S. Wendelken Trustee Award